Review of How to Get Great Book Reviews Frugally and Ethically

How to Get Great Book Reviews Frugally and Ethically: The ins and outs of using free reviews to build and sustain a writing career by Carolyn Howard-Johnson (HowToDoItFrugally Series for Writers) (Volume 3) (Paperback: October 24, 2016)

It’s hard to do justice to this book because it covers so much territory. I’ve been reviewing, promoting, and marketing for a long time, but I learned a lot more in this book; and even as I was reading it, I used the Tweet, etc. icons function on my Amazon buy page, per her suggestion. 

The author tells you how to use endorsements and blurbs in promotion–and how long an excerpt should be (fair use) and how to use elipses in these excerpts. (I knew that about elipses, but not everyone does.) I appreciated the Amazon info about the excerpt length she shared; and there was more useful information about working with Amazon.

Re: Networking: I’ve written blurbs for books and acknowledgments and received acknowledgments; she gives tips about that and more; and she addresses the importance of exposure and frequency. “This is a process, not a project.”

I also learned more about Amazon Prime and may use it. Oh, and that “As seen in …” tip is another one I can use right now. I’ll be rereading it again. And I learned more about reusing your Amazon review.

So much into, including the Ten-Best Lists tip. (One of my books was listed on MyShelf.com; I’d forgotten that!) Oh, oh. I haven’t kept track of my book reviews. I could have had a notebook for that!

The Questions and Answers section is very helpful; and then there are the Appendices:

“… Each publishing occasion that calls for a query…is different. Ditto for each circumstance that requires a media release. Thus, the samples (templates?) in my appendices are merely suggestions. …”

I’ve only scratched the surface! This is a must-read book for writers; I know I have to read it again. I wish I had a print copy ’cause it’d be full of flags! Highly recommended.

8 Comments

Filed under Book marketing, book publishing, book reviews, non-fiction

8 responses to “Review of How to Get Great Book Reviews Frugally and Ethically

  1. This is a great book and little ol’ me, well my book, The Lilac Princess, is mentioned in it! #frugalpromo

  2. Yes. I’m rereading that book and flagging pages. I’ve already used some of her hints.

  3. Reblogged this on Claire Plaisted – Indie Author and commented:
    Sounds like this is the book to read….Christmas is only weeks away…

Leave a Reply

